you're reading...

2011 Micheangelo Awards

Sweet success for 475 medal winners at the 2011 Michelangelo International Wine Awards

The results of the 15th annual Michelangelo CCL Label International Wine Awards (MIWA) were announced at a gala luncheon at the Lord Charles Hotel in Somerset West on September 9, 2011.


This year 226 producers entered a record total of 1 385 wines. A total of 475 wines received medals from the 15 international judges, of which 35 were Grand D’Or, 179 gold and 261 silver.

In accordance with the rules of the Michelangelo International Wine Awards only 30% of entries may be awarded a medal which adds to the prestige of a wine bearing a Michelangelo medal. In the event of several wines attaining the same score at the cut off for specific medals, all wines with that score are awarded a medal which may lead to the 30% being exceeded.


As was the case in 2009 and 2010, the red wine category attracted the most entries were Shiraz, with a total number of 169 wines entered. The judges commented that the Shiraz examples of 2009 were well-integrated and had good varietal character, while the wines of 2007 expressed quality in fruit and balance.


The red class with the second highest number of entries was Cabernet Sauvignon with 143 entries. The judges commented that the 2010 wines were singled out as showing the most promise.  Wines from the  2009 vintage were forthcoming, fruity and well-balanced whereas those of 2008 appeared to lack phenolic maturity and therefore they were often thin and green ?there were however many exceptions.


Red Blends were the third most popular class with 116 entries followed by Pinotage with 100 entries.


Among the white wine entries a record number of 169 Sauvignon Blanc wines were tasted, followed by Chardonnay with 97 entries and Chenin Blanc with 65 entries.


The Sauvignon Blanc class garnered 5 double gold, 22 gold and 33 silver medals. The judges commented that a comparison to the Sauvignons of New Zealand was inevitable and the panel concurred that the Sauvignon Blancs tasted in this year’s competition are less expressive than those of New Zealand,  but more natural and have better typicity.


According to Sue van Wyk, technical director of the competition, the Muscat classes were really impressive and the quality of these wines came as a surprise to the judges. They described them as being “beautiful wines”. They appreciated the fact that these wines are not imitations of European styled wines, but have their own unique style – rich, but not flabby, and well-balanced overall. The judges appreciated the uniqueness of these wines and numerous medals were awarded to fortified wines.


The following wines were awarded Grand D’Or medals:


Alluvia Specialist Winery Sandie Straw Wine 2010
Altydgedacht Estate Altydgedacht Sauvignon Blanc 2011
Alvi’s Drift Private Cellar Alvi’s Drift Muscat de Frontignan 2007
Alvi’s Drift Private Cellar Alvi’s Drift Muscat de Frontignan 2010
Claime d’Or Wines Claime D’Or Sauvignon Blanc 2010
De Krans De Krans Cape Tawny Port N/V
Die Bergkelder Fleur du Cap Noble Late Harvest 2010
Diemersdal Estate Pinotage Reserve 2010
Flagstone Wines Flagstone Writer’s Block Pinotage 2009
Grande Provence The Grande Provence 2006
Journey’s End Journey’s End Destination Chardonnay 2010
Journey’s End Journey’s End Chardonnay 2010
Kleine Zalze Vineyards Selection Chardonnay 2010
KWV KWV Likeurwyn 1937
Laibach Vineyards Laibach Woolworths Merlot 2010
Lomond Estate Lomond Sugarbush Sauvignon Blanc 2007
Longridge Wines Longridge Chenin Blanc 2010
Merwida Wingerde Merwida White Muscadel 2011
Mooiplaas Estate Houmoed Chenin Blanc 2009
Muratie Wine Estate Cape Vintage Port 2008
Nederburg Wines Nederburg Private Bin D252 Sauvignon Blanc /Semillion 2010
Nederburg Wines Nederburg Private Bin Eminence 2009
Nederburg Wines Nederburg Winemaster’s Reserve Noble Late Harvest 2010
Nuy Winery Nuy White Muscadel 2005
Rijk’s Private Cellar Rijk’s Reserve Pinotage 2007
Rijk’s Private Cellar Rijk’s Pinotage 2007
Saronsberg Cellar DH Chenin Blanc 2009
Spier Woolworths Classic Chenin Blanc 2010
Spier Woolworths True to Terroir Lonely Blue Gum Sauvignon Blanc 2011
Springfontein Wine Estate Springfontein Terroir Selection Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Stellenzicht Stellenzicht Syrah 2004
Tokara Wines Tokara Zondernaam Chardonnay 2010
Wedderwill Wine Estate Wedderwill Shiraz 2005
Wildekrans Wine Estate Pinotage Osiris Barrel Selection 2009
Windmeul Kelder Windmeul Cape Blend 2009


In addition, twelve trophies were awarded. The trophy winners are:


The CCL Label Grand Prix Trophy:


Journey’s End Chardonnay 2010
This trophy is awarded for the wine with the highest score in the competition.




The Grotto 2010 Top Producer Trophy:
Journey’s End


The RX South Africa Most Innovative Wine on Show Trophy:  
Blaauwklippen Before & After.
This is the third consecutive year that Blaauwklippen is awarded this trophy.


The Organic Trophy: 
Laibach Woolworths Merlot 2010

Good Taste Garagiste Trophy:
Dispore Kamma Syrah 2008


The Sue van Wyk Pinotage Trophy:
Diemersdal Pinotage Reserve 2010


Tonelería Magrenan Brandy Trophy:
Van Ryn’s 20 Year Collector’s Reserve


Golden Oldie Trophy: 
Rietvallei Muscadel 1980



Dessert Wine Trophy:
KWV Likeurwyn 1937


Best International Entry 2011:
Viña Concha y Toro SA Marques de Casa Concha Merlot 2009.
This is the first of three new trophies introduced this year.



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

SaleWine lIve

%d bloggers like this: